January 18, 2022

Hall of Joestice

Comic News, Podcasts and More…

Future State Reading Order

Future State” is a comic book storyline published by DC Comics in January and February 2021, consisting of multiple limited series released in place of DC’s regular ongoing series during those months. The event is set in the aftermath of Dark Nights: Death Metal, and takes place in a “possible future” of the DC Universe.

With continuity being somewhat malleable after the events of Death Metal the exact reading order is hard to determine, however the stories are broken up into three primary groups: The Batman Family of titles, The Superman Family and The Justice League Family. Read in that order, the possible outcomes of the DC Universe make a little more sense and it becomes obvious that some stories are more grounded in certainty than others

Total Issues: 50

“Batman Family”

  • Future State: Batman/Superman #1–2
  • Future State: Dark Detective #1–4
  • Future State: Catwoman #1–2
  • Future State: Harley Quinn #1–2
  • Future State: The Next Batman #1–4
  • Future State: Nightwing #1–2
  • Future State: Robin Eternal #1–2

“Superman Family”

  • Future State: House of El #1
  • Future State: Kara Zor-El, Superwoman #1–2
  • Future State: Immortal Wonder Woman #1–2
  • Future State: Legion of Super-Heroes #1–2
  • Future State: Superman of Metropolis #1–2
  • Future State: Superman vs. Imperious Lex #1–3
  • Future State: Superman: Worlds of War #1–2
  • Future State: Superman/Wonder Woman #1–2
  • Future State: Wonder Woman #1–2

“Justice League Family”

  • Future State: Aquaman #1–2
  • Future State: The Flash #1–2
  • Future State: Green Lantern #1–2
  • Future State: Justice League #1–2
  • Future State: Shazam! #1–2
  • Future State: Suicide Squad #1–2
  • Future State: Swamp Thing #1–2
  • Future State: Teen Titans #1–2
%d bloggers like this: